Indian Certificate of Secondary Education (ICSE)

The Indian Certificate of Secondary Education (ICSE)is another prominent educational board in India, known for its rigorous curriculum and comprehensive approach to education. The Council for the Indian School Certificate Examinations (CISCE) conducts the ICSE examinations for Class 10 students.

ICSE emphasizes a balanced education that includes a wide range of subjects and encourages students to delve deeper into each discipline. The curriculum is structured to provide a strong foundation in languages, sciences, mathematics, social sciences, and arts, promoting a well-rounded academic experience.

One distinguishing aspect of ICSE is its focus on English as the medium of instruction for most subjects, which helps in developing proficiency in the language among students. Additionally, ICSE incorporates a broader syllabus compared to some other boards, requiring students to study a diverse array of subjects.

The examination pattern of ICSE is designed to test students' analytical and conceptual understanding. It encourages critical thinking, problem-solving skills, and application-based learning rather than rote memorization.

Furthermore, the board provides flexibility in choosing elective subjects, allowing students to explore their interests and potential career paths. This approach aims to cater to the individual strengths and preferences of students while maintaining academic rigor.

ICSE also places importance on extracurricular activities, aiming to nurture talents beyond academics. The board aims to produce well-rounded individuals capable of excelling in various fields.

In summary, the ICSE board stands out for its comprehensive curriculum, emphasis on English, and holistic approach to education, aiming to prepare students for higher education and equip them with skills essential for their future endeavors.

ICSE Board Official Website


Based on Continuous Comprehensive Evaluation (CCE), students are promoted from one class to other. Students have several competitive and Olympiad exams to take to enhance their education and test their skills in various subjects. Some of the exams that students can consider are:

  • International Science Olympiad (ISO) :This is an international level science competition that tests students' knowledge and understanding of various science topics like Biology, Physics, and Chemistry.
  • International Maths Olympiad (IMO) : This is a math competition that tests students' skills in mathematical problem-solving and reasoning.
  • English International Olympiad (EIO) : This competition tests students' knowledge of the English language, including reading, writing, and speaking skills.
  • General Knowledge International Olympiad (GKIO) : This competition tests students' general knowledge of various subjects including History, Geography, Science, and current events.
  • International Computer Olympiad (ICO) : This competition tests students' knowledge of computer science and technology.
  • International Drawing Olympiad (IDO) : This competition tests students' skills in drawing, painting, and other visual arts.
  • National Essay Olympiad (NESO) : This competition tests students' writing skills, including their ability to express their thoughts and ideas in written form.
  • National Social Studies Olympiad (NSSO) : This competition tests students' knowledge of social studies, including history, geography, and political science.
  • Science Olympiad Foundation Exams : Science Olympiad Foundation (SOF) exams aim at nurturing students across different fields of English, Maths, Science and more. Hence, the Board conducts exams across 6 stages. The students are examined on the different basis, such as:
    • National Science Olympiad
    • National Cyber Olympiad
    • International General Knowledge Olympiad
    • International English Olympiad
    • International Commerce Olympiad
    • International Mathematics Olympiad
  • National Talent Search Examination (NTSE) : A national-level examination programme (NTSE) is a competitive exam meant for school students. NTSE aims to identify students with exceptional academic talent and intellectual ability. Students are tested on the NCERT syllabus, which includes Science, Math, Social Science, and Mental Ability. The students who qualify for this two-tier exam receive a cash scholarship for the entire academic year.
  • Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) : The SAT is the standard testing exam. It is conducted by the College Board Organisation in the United States. It is for students who wish to study abroad. Almost all foreign institutes require the SAT as qualifying criteria. The test focuses on testing the student on three basic criteria:
    • Writing ability is tested based on essays and English grammar.
    • Critical Reading is tested by evaluating performance on the comprehension of passages
    • Mathematics skills.

    Any student wishing to study in a foreign country will be required to take this test. More and more Indian universities have also begun to accept the scores of the SAT instead of their entrance exams.

  • NSTSE : NSTSE stands for National Science Talent Search Examination is conducted by Unified Council. The exam focuses on assessing the student’s capabilities in solving all the Science-related conceptual questions. Students from Classes 2 to 12 can appear for these exams as they are designed according to the CBSE syllabus.
  • Indian National Mathematical Olympiad : INMO is conducted by Homi Bhabha Centre of Science Education. Usually, this exam is conducted on the third Sunday of January every year. Students appearing for these exams must have a clear concept of learning mathematics. INMO is the 3rd stage of the 6 stages of Mathematics exams. Students who manage to clear the first two levels will be eligible to appear in the next stage. Moreover, students who clear INMO can directly appear for an interview at Indian Statistical Institute without the entrance test.
  • Kishore Vigyanik Protsahan Yojana (KVPY) : This exam is designed based on the National Program of Fellowship and designed to understand the Basics of Science. The Department of Science and Technology, Government of India, conducts the KVPY exams. It is one of the most important exams for students who wish to pursue higher studies in Science.
  • Indian National Olympiad (INO) : Students are evaluated based on their knowledge and understanding of Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Astronomy and Junior Science. The exam comprises a five-stage procedure. The first stage is a written exam conducted by NSE (National Standard Examination).
  • GeoGenius : This exam aims to create interest in geography. In this exam, students are asked to mark the various locations of India on a blank map.
  • National Interactive Maths Olympiad (NIMO) : This exam assesses the students' mental ability and mathematical skills. It also aims to reduce the fear of mathematics amongst the students.

Join Our Community

Enter your email address to register to our newsletter subscription delivered on regular basis!